brightening up the bathroom

Pattern:  Towel Rug from Handmade Home
Fabric:  2 old towels and a thrifted bedsheet

I really loved this pink vintage hand towel when I found it at a rummage sale, but I wasn’t sure what to do with it.  Then one day I got tired of looking at our (formerly) white bath mat and our off-white shower curtain in our beige and white bathroom.  And I decided to do something about it.

My favorite part of this is the back.  It’s an old green towel that I remember from my childhood.  I’ve watched it evolve from a standard bath towel to a rag and then eventually it must have been used as padding for something fragile that was being transported from my parents’ house to ours — I can’t really remember how it ended up here.  But I’m sort of thrilled that I’ve managed to preserve this link to my childhood, even though it’s just a mundane piece of cloth.

Leave a Reply

