buttercup purse

Ok, I know this isn’t a photo of a purse.  But I didn’t take any pictures of this particular purse, and I just couldn’t do a post with no pictures.  So you get to look at my neighbor’s lilacs.  (For the record, lilacs are my absolute most favorite flower, just in case anyone is keeping track of that sort of thing.)  I really missed lilacs when we lived in Missouri.  I’m sure there must be some growing down there somewhere, but I could never seem to find any.  Fortunately, Yankton is apparently the Lilac Capital of the state — there are huge bushes of them everywhere.

Anyway, back to the reason why we’re really here: the buttercup bag.  This is a great little bag, easy to sew, easy to personalize, and best of all the pattern is very generously put out there for free by one of my favorite bloggers, Rae of Made by Rae.  Hers was one of the first blogs I stumbled across and I’ve been hooked ever since.  She’s as generous as she is creative, and she’s got some great free patterns and tutorials.  Also, she’s really hilarious.

Anyway, I love this pattern and can’t wait to sew a bunch more.  This first one I made was for my little sis’s recent birthday.  Being the procrastinator I am, I had to get it in the mail the same day I finished sewing it.  Since I didn’t get any pictures of it, Liz has graciously put some up on her blog.

One thought on “buttercup purse

  1. I love lilacs too! Purple, white…I think there is pink too? They are very South Dakota. Your photo makes me think of how amazing they smell.

Leave a Reply

