right now

Despite all my talk about homemaking, I’m having trouble keeping the house an orderly and pleasant place to be, with summer beckoning us to go in all different directions at once.So right now, we’re going out as much as possible.  When the dirty dishes are stacked overwhelmingly high, or I can’t walk through the living room without stepping on some random toy or kitchen utensil, or those piles of laundry that need folding just won’t go away, we head out — to the park, the pool, the lake, the library.  Or just into our own yard. Anywhere that keeps me from having to think about the mess for a little while.  I thought once summer rolled around I’d finally get organized and keep things tidy.  But now that we have another little one toddling around, dragging things from place to place, maybe I have to face the reality that “tidy” just isn’t going to happen for another year or so!

All too often I find myself inhabiting the lands of Someday and Might-Have-Been.  Right Now is an exercise I try to practice here every Tuesday, an attempt to let go of anything that is holding me back from paying attention to the beauty and wonder in the life I’m living right now.  Feel free to join in with a comment or a link to your own post!

7 thoughts on “right now

  1. You are not alone!
    I have been such a perfectionist up until my daughter was about 1 year old. I stayed up, dead tired and picked up the toys and cleaned the kitchen at night so I would wake up to a clean home. Still I feel like there is nothing better – BUT, the reality is that it’s just too much to keep it up. I’ve learned to prioritize and if I’m too tired or prefer to enjoy a nice day outside – the mess stays, and I’m ok with it.
    Oh gosh, learning to ‘accept’ it is another ordeal 😉

    So anytime it’s nice out – yes go ahead with no guilt feelings. Enjoy the day and yourself.
    I love this saying ” a clean house is a sign of a wasted life” ;D lol

  2. Sara, I meant to comment on that post because I absolutely loved it. So now you know. 🙂 So glad your right now is getting you out and about. What a graceful recognition of the season of life with your little ones and that it will pass someday.

  3. “Right Now” is a beautiful thing to practice! I find myself, as well, getting lost in the ‘what might have been’ and the ‘someday’ that I some how forget about the now, and the time being lost. If we are always focused on the past or future, when does the present become present?
    Thank you for the reminder of the Right Now, and expressing it so wonderfully!

    ~ samya

Leave a Reply

