right now

It’s crazy how fast things can escalate from mild craziness to utter chaos in our home.  Whether it be a mess that suddenly multiplies, or sisters bickering and screaming, or boredom that becomes out-of-control whining.  I’m not always sure how we get to that point, but I do know what to do when we get there: go outside.

Right now, I’m amazed how simply stepping out the door brings instant change, to me and the girls alike.  I don’t know if it’s just the change of scenery, or the fresh air, or something else, but somehow everything that was really bad 10 minutes ago seems to melt away when we’re outdoors.  And I’m not talking out in the woods or the hills or at the lake.  I’m talking just walking around our neighborhood.  That’s all it takes.  Right now, being outside solves all our problems (although it doesn’t get the laundry done!).

All too often I find myself inhabiting the lands of Someday and Might-Have-Been.  Right Now is an exercise I try to practice here every Tuesday whenever I get around to it, an attempt to let go of anything that is holding me back from paying attention to the beauty and wonder in the life I’m living right now.  Feel free to join in.

3 thoughts on “right now

  1. Isn’t it amazing? I’m currently reading “Fifteen Minutes Outside: 365 Ways to Get Out of the House and Connect with Your Kids” by Rebecca Cohen. I’ve already started trying to make “outside-everyday-despite-the-weather” part of our routine. The winter months should prove challenging, but the book is organized by months! Activities for every season? Gotta love that.

    • That sounds like a great book! THanks for the recommendation. We do try to get outside every day, whatever the weather. I once read about forest kindergartens they have in Europe, schools that are completely outside. Having the right clothing & gear makes all the difference for being out in the cold!

Leave a Reply

