growing

A garden update for early August.

One day we spotted a bunch of these little guys on our dill, but we haven’t seen them since.

Note the long sleeves and pants.  It has not been the scorching summer it was last year.

The neighbor kids keep asking if they can pick our one red tomato, to which I always reply (perhaps a bit over-eagerly), “NO!  It’s not ripe enough yet.”

It has also not been the very dry summer it was last year (check out the crunchy lawns in this post).  For the past week we’ve had rain more days than not!  Rejoice!  Everything is so very green!

These are the sprouts of a late beet crop where the lettuce used to be.

Some little green worms are eating our kale all to shreds, which I’m not too broken up about because I inadvertently planted flat leaf kale.  And I’ve come to the realization that I’m a curly kale kind of person.

For the life of me, I can’t get a photo that really captures the color of these zinnias, no matter what time of day or what lighting or what camera setting I try.  They are called giant purple zinnia, and though they don’t really seem purple to me, they are not quite as pink as they always come out in the photos.

 

Here’s hoping that August’s good weather continues.

 

 

2 thoughts on “growing

  1. I wish my tomatoes were as red as yours. It’ll be a long time before I can pick any. That’s what happens when you don’t get your garden planted till the 2nd week in June. Really late for me!

Leave a Reply

