and now back to our semi-regularly scheduled programming

Hello again.  I’m back.  Well, I’ve been here all along really, only not in my usual capacity.  And now that I’ve crawled out of the black pit of despair that is (for me) the first trimester of pregnancy, we’re so ready to return to normal here.  I’ve written and revised this post (in my head) so many times; there’s so much  I could say about the last few months: the extreme awfulness of throwing up six times a day, the guilt about not being able to take care of my children, how thankful I am for my amazing husband and family.  But honestly now that it’s over I just don’t want to talk about it.  I don’t want to think about it.  Also my friend Carla, who is in a similar situation, has written a few eloquent posts on the matter.  I think I’ll just leave it at that.

So we’ve pretty much patched our lives back together and are ready for the peace and reflection of the Advent season, trying to fully enjoy this time with two relatively independent little girls before Baby #3 enters our lives in April.

Wishing joy and peace for you yours in this Season of Hope.

 

10 thoughts on “and now back to our semi-regularly scheduled programming

  1. Seeing Adeline typing on that manual Smith Corona reminds me of the very same typewriter I have in one of my spare bedrooms. They just don’t make them like that anymore!

    Wishing you a very Merry Christmas & a Happy & Healthy New Year!

  2. Sara, so good to see your pictures and read your post! I just love so many of the details going on each photo. I most definitely feel your pain and sympathize with your pregnancy struggles. Been there!! The crazy thing is that after many months you really do start to forget that you felt so sick and that you accomplished so little. So no guilt! The children will not remember. 🙂 Blessing to you & your growing baby and beautiful family. Much love, Katie

    • I sure hope you’re right! I worry that this was an experience that scarred us all. Adeline seems older than her years (though she always has been) while Bea is afraid to let me out of her sight — I think she’s worried I’m going to abandon her again! I suppose we’ll straighten things out in time!

  3. i’ve taken hundreds of photos over the last several months thinking i would eventually blog about them. but i never did. it’s been so long i wonder if i ever will… in any case, it’s nice to see you posting here again. miss you!

    • I know what you mean, Gi. Blogging takes so much time! How’s a homeschooling pastor’s wife trying to feed her family a traditional whole foods diet supposed to make time for that? But I would so love to “see” what you all have been up to! 🙂 Miss you too!

  4. AHHH! Congratulations!! I am thankful you made it through the 1st trimester. and that you had family and friends to help you. i wouldn’t have made it this far if it weren’t for my family. last winter I thought I was over the worse and had my feet back under me and then BAM! got sick and lasted for 2 months. my mom took an extra trip to come back and help me out for a while. looking forward to catching up via blogland. take care and blessings on your Advent.

    • Thanks, Elissa! It’s so important to have family or a surrogate support network, isn’t it? I loved your Christmas tree post, by the way — so thought-provoking and so true!

Leave a Reply

